How To Really Get To Know Your Characters! #MondayBlogs #AmWriting

Author Lucy has a unique way of getting to know her characters.

BlondeWriteMore

how-to-really-get-to-know-your

Photo Credit: Stocksnap

Do you want to know how to reallyget to know your characters? The answer is simple.

Pretend you are having coffee with your fictional character!

I have been using this role play method for sometime and I think it has really improved my second draft. My reviewers in November might disagree…

The thought of doing some character development can make some writers groan, as they view it as aboring writing chore. I will hold my hand up and admit to this.

For a long time I have been more focused on plot, as that is what excites me. In my head character development was just a tedious couple of hours writing lists of facial features. Ugh!

After a couple of bad draft novels I realised (the hard way!) that characters are so important to a story and it is the nuggets of character detail which…

View original post 701 more words

One thought on “How To Really Get To Know Your Characters! #MondayBlogs #AmWriting

  1. I like to pretend I am my character as I go about my day. I’ve had people close to me ask what was wrong as they watched my facial expressions change (especially my bad guys). It’s a little embarrassing when you forget there’s a world outside your head that other people can see.

    Like

Comments are closed.